We are almost there…

First I want to start off by saying I AM SO SORRY for not updating throughout the past few months. I could list excuses galore but I’ll just stick with my apology, and tell you Jordan Lynn has this insane desire to sit in my lap if I’m near an electronic device.

IMG_20150417_101932651_HDR
JL trying to write this blog post for me

I’m going to just briefly go over the projects we have done so far (that I can remember)… hopefully soon I’ll post a more detailed “how-to” on the bigger projects.

Plumbing is done! If there was one project that had us stumped over and over again, it was this. We had an awesome friend come and run all of the plumbing lines for us, Matt hooked up the drain system and relocated the septic system.

Drywall… I hate drywall. Everything about it. It’s heavy, must be perfect to look decent, and a two person job. I can honestly say this was my breaking point. This was where I was determined we would never live in this building, because there was no way we would ever finish the drywall portion. Well we did! It took 2 months but we did it! It certainly doesn’t look perfect (actually it looks horrible) but I totally don’t care. We made up our own texture using our hands, seriously. I used a high hide semi-gloss white paint, it’s very basic but until I decide the color pallet I’ll stick with white! 🙂 Using this paint also allowed us not to have to prime the drywall… this paint adhered to the mud quite well and we only had to put one coat on (except a few places where the greenboard was).

Floors… we had an issue with one piece that was warped so we pulled it up and replaced it with one of the leftover pieces. We also walked around and nailed down the pieces that squeaked, and then sanded! We rented a sander and used a 60 grit then 120 grit. It only took an hour or so, and then we cleaned up the floors with a shop vac making sure to suck up any debris in cracks and then we painted! We used Behr Premium Porch and Patio Floor Paint in lustre, it was a light gray called Pacific Fog. After painting the floors and seeing it in different lights I wish we had gone darker (Matt was right about this – but the color was called Slate Gray and I thought it was too boring of a name). The paint is awesome, it filled cracks and went far, we only used a gallon and a half. A few pointers on painting your floors: use a lot of paint on your roller, it’s more efficient. Keep your phone with you at all times, because if you don’t youll end up leaving it in the windowsill of the bathroom and not realizing it until after you have painted the entire room, then you have to Spiderman crawl across the bathtub to get it.

Like this...
Like this…

Paint behind the doors before painting in front of them. And lastly, shut the windows before painting. Otherwise you will end up finishing, realizing the window is open and it’s suppose to rain and having to walk across wet paint (which is actually really slippery) and then retouching all those footprints. No matter how much research and planning you do on projects like this, you are bound to make some hilarious mistakes. We allowed 48 hours of dry time before walking around on it. We will probably have to touch up some areas just because of moving furniture.

You can sort of see the colors of the floors here
You can sort of see the colors of the floors here
The guys version of moving

Moving in! Matt’s dad and brother came to town from NC to visit and helped us a TON. The 2nd day they were here they moved everything out of storage and into the cabin. Our couch wouldn’t fit unfortunately so we will be using bean bag chairs until we get a smaller couch.

IMG_20150417_112412

Uncle Scott and Isaiah hanging out
Uncle Scott and Isaiah hanging out

Facebook-20150417-111808

Grandpa and JL in front of the cabin
Grandpa and JL in front of the cabin

The shower walls we installed this past week. The problem we had with the conventional walls was our odd shape of our shower, we have shorter walls than normal and a half wall at the end. So considered using galvanized metal sheets but decided not to due to the difficulty and price. While we were talking to the Lowe’s people about our dilemma it hit me, vinyl flooring is waterproof! So we asked them, and they agreed with us (along with other research I did online). So we bought the vinyl sheeting and used the shower wall glue to attach it to the wall. We also used corner bead for the inside and outside corners and will caulk over those, the corner where the wall and ceiling meet, and the wall and the bathtub.

I finally got to do something I enjoyed and assembled the kitchen cabinets. We got them from Ikea and they were so easy to put together. And countertops went in today! They are beautiful and I love them. Matt and Steve cut the sink out and now we just need to attach the countertops to the counters and caulk between the wall and countertop and then cut the holes for our awesome faucet.

And then the basic – toilet, water heater, lighting, faucets, washer and dryer stacked.

What we have LEFT (feels soooo good to say that now): kitchen faucet needs to be installed (I cannot wait for yall to see this thing), unpack, trim, door and window frames, pantry shelving, and hang curtains. And of course clean the mess out of this place… we of course had rain this past week so our floors are muddy (yuck!).

This has been an incredibly difficult journey for us. It has been overwhelmingly amazing and we have seen God’s blessing pour over us but that also comes with its trials. I prefer to put on an ‘easy going’ demeanor when im in public, but the truth is I’m totally loosing control. I have debated over what’s better – look like I have it under control and that way people don’t pay attention to me, or be a complete mess and everyone know. If I’m going to be noticed, I want it to be because I’m a light, not because I’m crying my eyeballs out in the corner. I don’t know what is better, I have no answer or amazing insight to this. I’m not at the end of my journey. I’m asking God for peace, that’s all I want. Peace to tell me we are doing okay, we are where we should be doing what He wants us to do. I find His peace more during worship, I long to be in a constant state of worship. But we tend to get so busy, our day is filled to the top that we don’t stop to praise our Maker. I’m changing this, I want to worship in the car on my way to the grocery store, worship when I’m doing laundry, worship when I’m trying to find the words to write this blog. Not only just worship when we are at church on Sunday morning, and that’s if JL isnt freaking out in nursery.

I have been reading through Romans, and this stood out to me:

“Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean He no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death? (As the Scripture says, ‘For Your sake we are killed every day; we are being slaughtered like sheep.’) No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loves us. And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow – not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below – indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:35-39

DSCF0194 DSCF0257

Please continue to pray for our family. We are nearing the end of this journey, of actually enjoying God’s blessing and promise for us. And we know the enemy will be fighting even harder than he has.

Thank you for all of the prayers, the text messages, the phone calls we have received. The pouring out of help and love is overwhelming and I all too often feeling unworthy of such amazing friends and family. We love you guys so much.

Leave a Reply

